January 22, 2020

Mid-Career Standout Scholar Award

2023 Award Recipient

Dr. Jia (Jasmine) Hu
Professor of Management

Denman Scholar
Ohio State University

Jia (Jasmine) Hu is a Full Professor of Management and Denman Scholar at the Ohio State University, as well as the Citi Visiting Chair in International Business at Tsinghua University.

Jasmine obtained her Ph.D. in Organizational Behavior (OB) from the University of Illinois at Chicago and previously held a faculty position at the University of Notre Dame. Jasmine’s research focuses on prosocial leadership, team effectiveness, and the future of work. Her work has been published in top management journals, such as Academy of Management Journal (AMJ), Journal of Applied Psychology (JAP), Organizational Behavior and Human Decision Processes (OBHDP), and Personnel Psychology (PPsych), and has been discussed in prominent media outlets such as Forbes, Fortune, Times, and Washington Post. Her research has garnered over 8,170 citations according to Google Scholar.

Jasmine serves as an Associate Editor of JAP, Deputy Editor of Management and Organizational Review, and sits on the editorial boards of several management journals such as AMJ, OBHDP, PPsych, and Journal of Management. She has also taught leadership courses at various academic levels, from MBA and master’s programs to advanced seminars for Ph.D. students. Jasmine actively engages with professional organizations, currently serving as a representative-at-large for Academy of Management’s OB division and IACMR.

Jasmine was elected as a Fellow of the Society of Industrial and Organizational Psychology. She was ranked among the top 10 most productive leadership scholars in the OB field from 2011 to 2017 and was named as a “Best 40 under 40 Professor” by Poets and Quants.


We invite nominations for the 2024 Network of Leadership Scholars (NLS) Mid-Career Standout Scholar Award. Nominations are due March 15, 2024.

NLS honors a career-in-progress that has made and is likely to continue making considerable impact on leadership scholarship, practice, and/or teaching. Through this award, we call attention to our science and some of the very best work we are doing as a field. In a time when the contribution of the social sciences to society is called into question, we seek to highlight achievements of our very best mid-career leadership scholars, making them visible to their institutions, industry, and community.


  • The applicant/nominee must have completed his or her PhD (or finished his or her training/education) 8-14 years ago.
  • The applicant/nominee should have a noteworthy body of work that has made a meaningful and original contribution to the field of leadership studies.
  • ●      The applicant/nominee should have contributed to the discipline in ways that complement his or her scholarship (e.g., editorial board service, service as a representative for the Academy or other professional organizations, mentoring of students in the field).
  • Mid-Career Standout Scholar Award committee members and previous winners of this award are not eligible.

Application Process

  • Self and other nominations are welcome.
  • A 1 page single spaced letter describing the applicant/nominee’s career evolution providing a strong case for his/her contribution to the leadership field. This can include some of the following points:
    • Number of years since receiving the PhD (must be 8-14 years).
    • Important and novel research questions in the area of leadership addressed.
    • Integrated leadership-related career progression.
    • Leadership-related publications in top-tier journals.
    • Overall citations and other indices of research productivity.
    • Publications with students.
    • Service to the field
      (e.g., editorial board memberships, conference leadership positions).
    • Teaching accomplishments in the area of leadership.
    • Work addressing the research-practice gap.
  • The applicant/nominee’s curriculum vita.
  • Materials must be emailed to: Brett Neely – networkleadershipscholars@gmail.com

Committee Membership

The NLS board, in conjunction with the Chair invites committee members with the intent of ensuring a representative committee (in terms of seniority, interdisciplinarity, multiple nationalities, and sex). The role of the Chair is to guide the Committee through its decision and work with the incoming NLS Awards Coordinator (Brett Neely, networkleadershipscholars@gmail.com) in organizing the process.

Deadlines and Timeline

  • Materials due March 15th, 2024.
  • Award winner will be notified by July 1st, 2024
  • Award will be conferred at the 2024 Academy of Management Annual Meeting.

Previous Award Winners

2020Bradley P. Owens
2021Peter Harms
2022Jennifer Nahrgang