Rising Star Early Career Award **Deadline Extended**

Rising Star Early Career Award 2021

Sponsored by the Exeter Centre for Leadership at 

University of Exeter Business School (UK)


We invite nominations for the 2021 Network of Leadership Scholars (NLS) Rising Star Early Career Award, sponsored by the Exeter Centre for Leadership. Nominations are due May 7, 2021.

Now in its third year, NLS and the Exeter Centre for Leadership honor a junior academic who is already making a significant contribution to the field of leadership. The intention of the Rising Star Early Career Award is to help promote the work of this highly promising junior scholar. Such recognition should promote networking with senior academics within the field and raise the winner’s profile. The successful applicant will also be awarded £1500 to go towards supporting their research and will be invited to join the committee to judge applicants the following year. 


  • The applicant/nominee must have completed his or her PhD within the past 5 years
  • The PhD must be on the topic of leadership within the field of Organizational and Industrial Psychology, Organizational Behavior, Management or a related field. 
  • The applicant/nominee must already have a proven record of publishing in top tier journals and be able to demonstrate a promising pipeline of work going forward. 
  • Rising Star Early Career Award committee members and previous winners of this award are not eligible.

Application Process

  • Self and other nominations are welcome.
  • The applicant/nominee’s curriculum vita, including a full publication list
    (this can also include papers under review).
  • A 1 page summary providing a compelling argument for how the applicant/nominee’s research makes a significant contribution to the topic of leadership. This can detail both how work has evolved to date and plans going forward for advancing knowledge. 
  • A co-author reference (this can either be attached to the application or sent directly). Materials must be emailed to: Ilke Inceoglu (I.Inceoglu@exeter.ac.uk

Committee Membership

The 2021 committee consists of 5 members: Professor David Allen, Pro-Vice Chancellor & Executive Dean of University of Exeter Business School (Chair), Berrin Erdogan, Ronit Kark, Fadel Matta, and Niels van Quaquebeke. 

The NLS board, in conjunction with the Chair invites committee members with the intent of ensuring a representative committee (in terms of seniority, interdisciplinarity, multiple nationalities, and sex). The role of the Chair is to guide the Committee through its decision and work with the NLS Awards Coordinator (Karen Landay, kmlanday@umkc.edu) in organizing the process.

Deadlines and Timeline

  • Materials due May 7th, 2021.
  • Award winner will be notified by June 1st, 2021.
  • Award will be conferred in Fall 2021.

Karen Landay
NLS Awards Coordinator
Assistant Professor
University of Missouri-Kansas City

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: